The school's Local Governing Body meets every term to make key decisions. What we do as a Governing Body is described in our Terms of Reference and the principles by which we serve is covered in our Code of Conduct.

As governors, our energies are focused on the core strategic functions as defined by the defined by the Department of Education, which are:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

  • Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school;

  • Oversee the financial performance of the school, ensuring value for money;

  • Promote the highest possible standards for Safeguarding.

It is important to note that the governors are a team, not a collection of individuals and however much we may differ in our opinions and experiences we are united by our commitment to the school and the responsibility we share for its long-term success. In short, we have a common purpose.

Our Governors are:

Nick Mathers

Chair of Governors

Foundation Governor

Becky Rix

Vice Chair of Governors

Foundation Governor

Mrs Kerry McLean

Head Teacher

Mrs Arthur

Robin Astles

Foundation Governor

Tim Collier

Staff Governor

Geoff Spilsbury

Site Maintenance Officer

Associate Governor


Nicola Jenkinson

Parent Governor

Jane Unwin

Foundation Governor


Reverend Sandi Fisher


Alex Mayer

Foundation Governor 


Helen Harper

Foundation Governor 



Carole Self

Clerk to Governors












Files to Download

Contact the School

Brereton Primary School

School Lane,

Brereton Green,



CW11 1RN

Administration Assistant: Mrs S Henderson
Senco: Mrs N Wood

Tel: 01270 685125